Seasonal sprucing, neurotic nesting and diligent down-to-the-wire work to-do list.

Image

20130924-165903.jpg

Enough with the alliteration.  Apologies.

Fall is (almost) here in the South.  If I was allowed to touch the bags of bug killer and fertilizer I have on hand, I’d know for sure what is optimal to prep for the winter and next spring- but I get yelled at by friends and neighbors  but, never hurts to see what you might need to do to winterize your lawn and prep it for a great following season.

Also, fall is a great time to trim back trees and shrubs so they look great for spring and to mulch loose leaves.  My father, on their recent visit, spent an industrious afternoon while my mother and I were wandering the newly re-opened/relocated New River Pottery trimming and thinning a wall of hedge (well, calling it a “hedge” is being kind- hot mess of evergreen weeds and poison ivy might be more appropriate) .  I say trim, but think back to any story you have ever heard about a three year old with a pair of scissors and their own hair.  Nightmare bangs.  Well,  I had nightmare masses of thorny briar mess all over the back yard and now no longer have a loverly buffer to the neighbors back yard, which, if you’ve ever hear my crowd-pleasing story involving a small gas leak and my blowdryer (seriously, it’s good over coffee or a soon-to-be-enjoyed-again-glass-of-wine). . .and an audience. . .you understand what a loss.

So, in an effort to get the baby show on the road, spent the last few days cleaning the house and scrubbing the floors and today, hauling a mountain of trimmings to the curb- AND tracked it through the house so I’ll be doing all the floors, again.  Not the same as Spinal Tap, but my nesting goes to eleven.

Of course it’s also raining work now, loan pre-approvals and random buyers who didn’t respond to email or voicemail for months calling/emailing back and in the next two weeks, four listings hitting the market.  As predicted, looks like no maternity leave for me, but then, I can’t handle missed phone calls or texts.  Maybe three am feedings will become my new favorite lead generation/email triage time?

Leave a Reply

