Dhurrie Rug Cleaning Tips

Standard

I was digging around on ole Pinterest for pointers on how best to clean a color fast dhurrie rug.  I remembered on one or two PCS in the past using dish soap and a scrub brush on a driveway or two but figured there had to be a more magical mix that helped with another decade or two of wear, and dog smell.

A pal pointed me in this direction: http://laundry.about.com/u/sty/laundryproblems/Your-Laundry-Questions-And-Answers/How-to-Remove-Yellow-Age-Spots-From-Wool-Clothes.htm

“Mix a solution of oxygen-based bleach (OxiClean, Clorox 2, Country Save BleachPurex 2 Color Safe Bleach) and cool water. Follow the package directions as the amount of product to use per gallon of water. DO NOT USE CHLORINE BLEACH. Completely submerge the garments and allow them to soak overnight. Check the stained areas. If they are gone, wash as usual. If the stain remains, mix a new solution and repeat the process. It may take several soakings to remove the stains depending on what caused them and how dark they are.”

It’s primarily for older wool clothing but compared to a rug, is considered a gentle cleaning solution so I’ll be giving it a whirl.  After hand painting a fence, it’s par for the course this season.  I should have amazing arms before the season is over!

About McKenzie Johnson

I am a Real Estate Broker with over 13 years experience in the industry. A fan of anything the color orange, long walks on the beach eating dried cuttlefish, four legged friends, new adventures in cooking or travel. A REALTOR and real estate consultant living and working in North Carolina with information to share. I would love to demystify the process for you. . .I think real estate is a tremendous investment for just about everyone. . .not just for the financial aspect, but also the idea of owning a piece of the American Dream, a chunk of earth, literally, with your name on it. I love what I do and who I get to meet through my job, the most rewarding part is handing a family their very first set of house keys! I hope you will find helpful information here, and it is just that, information, please don't take it as gospel, just my take on real estate and the world around me. For additional information and how to contact me, visit my website www.910Homes.net. I serve the Onslow County area which includes the military bases: Camp Lejeune, New River MCAS, Camp Johnson, Camp Gieger and more.

7 responses »

  1. Eek, the one important pointer for the actual “soaking”- use a child sized wading pool. My ocd cleaning pal uses hers this time of year (when it’s a little too chilly to have the pool set up for the season) to scrub car seats, fabric sporting folding seats, dog crates and more. . .says she feels she REALLY gets her money worth with the extra uses.

  2. Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this weblog; this webpage contains remarkable and genuinely good information in support of visitors.

  3. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert
    that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  4. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many
    thanks, However I am encountering problems with your RSS.

    I don’t know why I can’t join it. Is there anybody having the same
    RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond?

    Thanks!!

  5. It can also be done manually on a chiropractic table.
    It is meant to be flexible and to supply a protective
    region for the major organs like the heart and the liver.
    Dont keep the same mattress for more than 10 years as it is bound to lose its
    shape and structure and the wear and tear of the coils through the years will give you an uncomfortable feeling.

Leave a Reply

