Running with ducks.

Standard

    It’s been a full few days since the last post.  In the next few days a project I threw myself under the bus to help undertake will be finished, I’ll be sharing the embarassment here, keep your eyes peeled. 

  This Saturday, managed my first hour run. . .and I have to admit, twist my arm, that, frankly I can think of no less than a hundred things I would rather be doing that running for an hour and, interestingly, during an hour run, I came up with quite the list.  Why the heck am I doing an marathon anyhow?!  Why did Sir Edmund Hillary climb Everest?  “Becasue it is there.”  It’s been on my bucket list forever and it’s an excuse to try a new town on for size, I’m entertaining moving in the not-to-distant future. . .sort of like the movie/story “Away we go” only no baby on the way and no partner. . .but visiting friends and family on a very short list of possible move locations.  I woke up a few months ago and realized, having grown up a USMC brat, having been also briefly married to a Marine. . .my passion, my work, was best served by staying in a military community as the economy grinded to a halt.  Things are picking up, which makes moving an exciting option.  Blame it on the constant moves but being in one place for ten years has me itching to box things up. . .but, I’m sure it will be a year or two before that happens.  Working on license coordination and all that fun stuff with the state that’s number one on the list and looks to be the final pick.  The rest, training, and selling lots of homes between now and then!

Wondering if tacking on one more project right now would be too much as I roll into the busier pcs/move season for our area.  Any thoughts on running/collecting donations for a charity?  I’m debating on contacting Resolve.org and looking into it, also torn that it may be perceived as a tad self-serving, but then, why not run for a cause that I firmly believe in?  Decisions, decisions.

In the meantime, a hint. . .on the night stand recently for reading: The Cure: How a father raised $100 million….by Wall Street Journal Reporter Geeta Anand.  I’m a fan of moss on rocks.

TTFN~  If you know anyone looking to buy or sell or simply with questions, the busy season has officially kicked off this week, several days in a row I had three appointments. . .and got bit by a lock box or two.  Hope all is well with you and yours!

**(Why the duck photo?  They’re mean, and when I tried to sneak a short cut into the run and find a wind break, these suckers came out of nowhere begging for bread, which, ahem, as blog resident celiac, no dice.  Thought they were sort of cute as I ran past, paused for a second and turned around to snap a pic only to realize they had given chase and, apparently, hungry ducks cover ground very quickly. . .lesson learned.  Also, ducks are larger than they appear in an iphone photo.)

About McKenzie Johnson

I am a Real Estate Broker with over 13 years experience in the industry. A fan of anything the color orange, long walks on the beach eating dried cuttlefish, four legged friends, new adventures in cooking or travel. A REALTOR and real estate consultant living and working in North Carolina with information to share. I would love to demystify the process for you. . .I think real estate is a tremendous investment for just about everyone. . .not just for the financial aspect, but also the idea of owning a piece of the American Dream, a chunk of earth, literally, with your name on it. I love what I do and who I get to meet through my job, the most rewarding part is handing a family their very first set of house keys! I hope you will find helpful information here, and it is just that, information, please don't take it as gospel, just my take on real estate and the world around me. For additional information and how to contact me, visit my website www.910Homes.net. I serve the Onslow County area which includes the military bases: Camp Lejeune, New River MCAS, Camp Johnson, Camp Gieger and more.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

