Does it feel like Groundhog’s Day, even when it isn’t?

Standard

Guava Plantation

Or enjoy a “month of Mondays”?!  I have and I have had enough.  My home has been under some loverly renovations, most recently, new siding and a front porch rebuild/rehab.  Renovations, if you aren’t one of the lucky many to enjoy them, often means moving piles of your crap from one end of your home to another as various areas are demolished and rebuilt providing buckets of dust on things that generally aren’t huge fans of dust. 
While moving one of my many piles (working on my packrat issues this year as well, it’s one large purge) a rare stack of photos slid out onto my area rug.  A teasure trove of pics from my more fun and adventurous days and nary a photo with my ex in it (those of you with long term relationships under your belt know what I mean).  One of my favorite new discoveries was this shot from a guava plantation either on Maui or Kauai.  Somewhere in piles of junk I know there’s an amazing shot of the lighthouse that’s on the other side of the highway on a point from the plantation, I’ll keep you posted if that resurfaces, otherwise, a fantastic excuse to hunt the location down again and snap a fresh photo.  Point being?  I’m adding to my resolution list that includes fun things like reach new sales goals in real estate and matching even more families to homes and going back to my maiden name. . .but also adding a heck of a lot of fun and crazy projects. 
For YEARS I have said I was going to conquer a marathon before I got married and started a family.  This is the year.  I took it as a sign that the Portland HALF MARATHON that I wanted to sign up for, and had decided on last night based on all the route’s fun bells and whistle’s and the excuse to visit a few friends (and calling them to talk them into perhaps running along side) , logged in to their site this morning to find out that LITERALLY last night, midnight, they shut down registration for the October half marathon, however, plenty of spots open for the Boston Marathon qualifying full marathon along the same route.  If a half marathon’s registration falls in cyber-space, does it make a sound?  Yes, apparently it said “Put on your big girl panties and give this marathon thing the what for!”  And please be advised, the “what for” for this particular experience, going into it with only a three-mile threshold , means finishing.  Note: my usual goal of looking cute whilst doing so has been dropped off this mission’s critical list.
Things on the table:
And wall climbing, new head shots, new business cards (to kick off the new-old last name), and seeing every friend possible and attempting to never turn down an opportunity to travel and or try something new.
Shadow or no shadow, the race is long, and in the end, it’s only with yourself.  Do something today that scares you.  Challenge yourself to be more like you were at seventeen.  Be a good friend, be nice to your siblings. . .take on new work, be willing to let help in for large projects. . .and more.  I get more polished every year with my house matching and marketing talents. . .and if I can help you with either. . .or meet for a cup of tea, let me know.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTJ7AzBIJoI    (Because, after being on a 1997 soundtrack, when I was seventeen, it’s all still true.)

About McKenzie Johnson

I am a Real Estate Broker with over 13 years experience in the industry. A fan of anything the color orange, long walks on the beach eating dried cuttlefish, four legged friends, new adventures in cooking or travel. A REALTOR and real estate consultant living and working in North Carolina with information to share. I would love to demystify the process for you. . .I think real estate is a tremendous investment for just about everyone. . .not just for the financial aspect, but also the idea of owning a piece of the American Dream, a chunk of earth, literally, with your name on it. I love what I do and who I get to meet through my job, the most rewarding part is handing a family their very first set of house keys! I hope you will find helpful information here, and it is just that, information, please don't take it as gospel, just my take on real estate and the world around me. For additional information and how to contact me, visit my website www.910Homes.net. I serve the Onslow County area which includes the military bases: Camp Lejeune, New River MCAS, Camp Johnson, Camp Gieger and more.

Leave a Reply

