Do you like how your yard looks this time of year?

Standard

I have often heard from buyers I work with this time of year that they don’t care for the way our lovely area “winters” and I can’t blame them.  Onslow County is home to many military families. . .and for decades has been an area of high home turnover due to PCS orders.  What does that mean for something seemingly so insignificant as landscaping?

Many folks are buying with the thought “Well, why bother, this isn’t my “forever” home.” which I can certainly understand.  However, even the smallest efforts, over years will truly change the landscape of our community, which, especially for military families, often is called home more than once in a lifetime or career.

At a minimum, homes in our area need to be power-washed annually.  Steamy summer months invite mildew, mold and algae to grow and discolor siding.  Check with your builder or siding manufacturer for the safest cleaning options, but often simply water and a scrub brush are enough. 

Keep your yard tidy, regardless of the season.  You never know when you or a neighbor may be putting your home on the market so preparing in advance by planing trees and shrubs that look great and provide color year round is a must.  There are many regional favorites that can help add personality and shade to your yard; azaleas are always popular and come in a variety of colors and are fairly easy to grow, Camellias are pretty low-maintenence with the benefit of blooming and staying green in the chilly months, Confederate Jasmine is a climber with amazing fragrant white flowers and is evergreen in the winter, crepe myrtles can grow into lovely accent and shade trees when they aren’t “cropped”–or as Southern Living Magazine Dubbed it, “Crepe-murdered”. . . and a new favorite, the shade-master honey locust, a hardwood tree that grows pretty quickly into a nice shade tree that requires little raking.

So, this time of year, take some mental notes as to what parts of your yard need some color or structure so that come springtime, you know what areas might need a little TLC once your yard springs to life.   A little effort every year will help create a lovely yard you enjoy spending time in, and could be a great asset when it comes time to put your home on the market.

About McKenzie Johnson

I am a Real Estate Broker with over 13 years experience in the industry. A fan of anything the color orange, long walks on the beach eating dried cuttlefish, four legged friends, new adventures in cooking or travel. A REALTOR and real estate consultant living and working in North Carolina with information to share. I would love to demystify the process for you. . .I think real estate is a tremendous investment for just about everyone. . .not just for the financial aspect, but also the idea of owning a piece of the American Dream, a chunk of earth, literally, with your name on it. I love what I do and who I get to meet through my job, the most rewarding part is handing a family their very first set of house keys! I hope you will find helpful information here, and it is just that, information, please don't take it as gospel, just my take on real estate and the world around me. For additional information and how to contact me, visit my website www.910Homes.net. I serve the Onslow County area which includes the military bases: Camp Lejeune, New River MCAS, Camp Johnson, Camp Gieger and more.

One response »

  1. As a baseball coach, I’ll be the first to say that my other yard looks better the one I am currently perching on!

    I have been tempted to cheat a little with my own lawn and try throwing some of that fertilizer looking look they have on TV where you can put down over dry spots and have grass to grow and see if it will spread. You know that mess they they also pour on top of cement blocks and shows grass growing on the top!

    Of course, I wouldn’t try it on the baseball field as that’s my baby!

Leave a Reply

