A Day that will live in INFAMY

Standard

I just wanted to take a moment to remember, and hopefully remind other folks that today, December the seventh, is the anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor.  I spent a good portion of my school-aged years in Hawaii and every year it seemed there was a trip to Pearl Harbor.  I find both the devastation of that day and the determination of those there amazing. . . both thanks to the perspective of being an “adult” and having a better grasp as to what transpired on that awful day so many years ago, but also because the surprise, the emotions, and more remind me so much of the attacks on 9/11.

I hope you will take a few moments today to remember those who lost their lives on that day as well as the resilient survivors who are still alive today.  If you ever have the opportunity to visit Hawaii, a trip to Pearl Harbor and its memorial are a must, and bring a lei to cast into the water . . .

On another note, I hope you and yours are enjoying the holiday season so far. . .this month, I vowed to take a slightly longer route home since I generally leave in the dark, to enjoy all the great lights and decorations that my neighbors have made the effort to display. . .so pack up the kids or your favorite sweetie, put on some holiday music and maybe bring along a thermos or car-mug of hot cocoa to enjoy. . .take advance of the great sights and sounds. . .and we just might drive past one another.   🙂

McKenzie

About McKenzie Johnson

I am a Real Estate Broker with over 13 years experience in the industry. A fan of anything the color orange, long walks on the beach eating dried cuttlefish, four legged friends, new adventures in cooking or travel. A REALTOR and real estate consultant living and working in North Carolina with information to share. I would love to demystify the process for you. . .I think real estate is a tremendous investment for just about everyone. . .not just for the financial aspect, but also the idea of owning a piece of the American Dream, a chunk of earth, literally, with your name on it. I love what I do and who I get to meet through my job, the most rewarding part is handing a family their very first set of house keys! I hope you will find helpful information here, and it is just that, information, please don't take it as gospel, just my take on real estate and the world around me. For additional information and how to contact me, visit my website www.910Homes.net. I serve the Onslow County area which includes the military bases: Camp Lejeune, New River MCAS, Camp Johnson, Camp Gieger and more.

6 responses »

  1. Hi McKenzie,

    I hear you’ve just started blogging (only 2 posts!) and you are looking for some encouragement. I can tell you that it is worth it. I’d suggest you shorten your posts by segmenting them out in the various topics. You put a little too much into your first one. Spread the love, baby! Plus, it makes blogging easier to take one topic at a time.

    I’ve been online for years (various methods) and I’ve been blogging about 20 months and it is indeed working out well. Check out my own blog: http://www.TeamReba.com/blog and you’ll see what we’re doing with it now.

    Your post about Dec 7th is a close one for my partner, Michael, he spent his high school years in Hawaii because of his father’s career in the military. He likely spent a lot more time involved with the concepts of Pearl Harbor since his dad was in the military for 20+ years. I do have great respect for our people in the military of which many have come from my own family (one nephew in AF now, my best friend’s son in Navy) now and in the past, including my brother, father, cousins, uncles, and grandparents.

    Let us hope we never experience another day such as this one, or 9/11 again. Peace on earth to all.

    Good luck to you McKenzie!

    Rebecca “Reba” Haas
    Team Reba of RE/MAX Metro Realty

  2. McKenzie,

    I was born at Camp Pendleton (Marine Corp Base in San Diego), my husband is an Army vet, and my father-in-law was D-Day plus five. I share your sentiments and appreciate the message.

    Best of luck with your blog, by the way. There goes your “free” time. 🙂

  3. I was guided here by Derek and have to tell you that you may just be a “blogging natural”! welcome to the blogging world and don’t be afraid to look around and meet new people – it’s a great medium!

    And to keep on the subject of your article – we tend to ignore history and to forget important dates. The reality is that because of that December 7th, so many years ago, our lives are the way they are now. Thanks for the reminder and Happy Holidays!

  4. I love taking the long way home this time of year to see what people have done with Chritsmas lights at their house. The lights are so transforming, and turn even the ordinary magical!

  5. Great post McKenzie, and welcome to the blogiverse!

    Just keep plugging along. Read lots of blogs, post regularly and link out to others!

    Give realestateweblogging101.com a peak. Tons of info there!

    JT

Leave a Reply

